Throw Out the 409!


My latest venture has been to eliminate chemical cleaners from my life. I just recently got rid of all of my chemical cleaners with the exception of glass cleaner and Murphy’s wood oil for my floors. More on that in a minute. My 3 new favorite cleaners are baking soda, my all-purpose cleaner – water, vinegar, baking soda, and liquid soap, and carpet cleaner – equal parts vinegar and water. The all-purpose cleaner has been working out well. I use it in my bathrooms for the sink, shower and toilets. I use it in my kitchen on the counter tops, stove, and any other dirty appliance. I use it anywhere that there is cleaning to be done. At first, I had trouble. That liquid soap left a cloudy residue on my surfaces. I have now found the right balance of a very wet sponge to remove the cleaner. The end result are clean counters and no chemical smell or fumes. Mission accomplished.

As the mother of an 8 month old baby and a dog, carpet cleaner is a must in our household. Fortunately, carpet is limited to the stairs, 2nd floor, and an area rug in the family room, but nonetheless, carpet cleaner is still a required cleaning product in my household. My dog does all of his vomiting on the stairs or in the baby’s room, and my baby spits up frequently – enough said. The carpet cleaner has been working out well except for that vinegar smell. It takes forever to dissipate! For example, last night, Gavin rewarded my husband with a nice healthy dose of spit up which landed not just on Steve but also the couch. I cleaned that couch so that you would never know that spit up landed there except for the vinegar smell which was still there this morning. If it’s still there tonight, I’m going to try sprinkling baking soda on it and see if it will absorb the smell. That’s a nice segue to baking soda. It’s not just for cooking. We use trash cans with sealed lids as diaper pails. No Diaper Genies or Diaper Champs for us. We are cheap – didn’t want to buy the insert and conscientious about how much garbage we generate – didn’t want to throw away the insert. Baking soda works wonders for absorbing the odor of poopy diapers in that trash can.

The only cleaner that I truly miss is Comet. How well Comet cleaned my kitchen sink and shower with little effort….but since it is a nasty chemical, in the trash it went. I now use straight baking soda as its replacement. It requires a bit of elbow grease to get my sink clean and white but it is still effective.

As mentioned earlier, I still use glass cleaner and Murphy’s wood oil to clean my floors. They are still on my To Be Eliminated list. I figure that I have until Gavin is crawling to get a natural floor cleaner. I’m skeptical about some of these natural glass cleaners, but, of course, I will keep you posted.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] previous posts, you may remember that for the past few years, I have been trying to use non-chemical cleaners.  […]

    Reply

  2. […] Tagged: environment, health, miscellaneous. Leave a Comment I have written in the past about my commitment to use non-toxic cleaners to clean my home.  I admit that I do have a few exceptions.  I still use […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

