I got walloped …


with a cold. I honestly can’t remember the last time I was sick. It’s been at least 2 years, maybe more. I pride myself on my strong immunity. I credit sleep, vitamins, healthy diet, and exercise with warding off all kinds illnesses. The average adult gets 2-4 colds every year. That makes me way below average. Now my streak is over, and I’m suffering. I’ve got head congestion, chills, and body aches. I ache so much that it actually hurt to eat my PB&J sandwich for breakfast this morning.

I still went to work. I’m one of those people who I hate. You know what I’m talking about. That person that is dog-sick but still hurls their germ infested body into the office, only to breathe those germs onto anyone who comes near them. I can’t stand those people, so I guess that means that I can’t stand myself today. My rationale was that this was my last day of work for the week and Gavin’s home with my mother today. The less I breathe on him, the less of a chance he’ll get sick, and I don’t want him to get this cold.

I know that it’s a cold and nothing that some antibiotics would clear up in a couple of days because Steve got it first. He’s been so sick that he stayed home from work yesterday and actually went to the doctor. The doctor told him that he has all the classic symptoms of a cold, and there is nothing you can do but wait it out. Poor Steve. He’s been miserable for several days, which is why I feel even guiltier at my irrational anger at him for passing his germs on to me.

I’m hoping that today is my worst day, and I will only start improving. In the meantime, I’ll keep my hot tea and neti pot close by.

Leave a Reply

