What Else Can I Grow?


Despite the rain and gray skies, I had a glimpse of summer today. That vision came in the form of little round blue pieces of fruit. If you guessed blueberries – you are right! My solar energist friend, Val, has lovely blueberry, raspberry, and blackberry bushes planted in her yard. Late last summer, I was visiting, and we were sitting on her deck enjoying the lovely warm weather. Her husband walked up the deck stairs and poured a handful of raspberries onto a plate. They were the most beautiful raspberries I have ever seen. I promise you that I am not over-exaggerating. They were a wonderful dark pink color and plump with juice. I have never seen a raspberry look that fresh. They were grown from their very own plant just at the bottom of the deck steps. Most importantly, they were fresh and pesticide free. I had spent the summer enjoying home-grown vegetables and herbs. I had never considered growing fruit.

After hearing how her husband was expanding their personal orchard this summer, I became inspired to do the same. Imagine my surprise when I went to Costco today and saw blueberry bushes for sale. It must be fate, and who is going to argue with fate? I bought two. They are currently waiting patiently in my car to be taken to their new home and planted. The planting will have to wait until the rain ends. In the meantime, I need to start shopping for some raspberry bushes. Then I need to figure out how to protect my future fruit from the birds.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JK on March 30, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Nets. Put them up as the fruit ripens, take them down when you have picked the last berry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

