You can’t get much healthier than this….Mixed Grain Casserole


I just shared this recipe with my sister.  It is a delicious, simple dish to make.  It’s healthy and has an element from each food group.  Each serving is 187 calories, 4 g fat, 33 g carb, 7 g fiber, and 10 g protein.   I can’t take credit for this recipe.   It’s from the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.  If you don’t have this cookbook, I recommend adding it to your collection.   It was the first cookbook I ever owned (a gift from my mother), and it is the cookbook that I use the most today.

Mixed Grain Casserole

2 medium carrots thinly sliced (I just use the baby carrots and cut them into chunks)
1 cup of fresh mushrooms, quartered
1 can of black beans, rinse  and drained
8 oz (1 cup) frozen corn
1 cup of veg broth (you could use chicken broth)
1/2 cup pearl barley  (might be a little pricey but will last you a long time; also a good side dish instead of rice)
1/4 cup bulgur
1 small onion chopped
1/4 tsp garlic salt
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1.  In a 1.5 quart casserole dish, mix all the ingredients except for cheese.  Bake, covered, in a 350 degree oven for an hour, stirring once halfway through.

2.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Cover; let stand for 5 minutes or until cheese melts.

Next time I make this, I’ll post a picture of it.

Leave a Reply

