Fresh Squeezed OJ – in October?!


I look forward to something special every October – delicious fresh squeezed orange juice.  Everyone thinks of fresh squeezed juice as a summer luxury, but it doesn’t have to be.  Every October, Costco sells big boxes of oranges for a low, low price.  Oranges are not on the dirty dozen list because of their thick skin, so I feel free to buy the non-organic variety.  However, throughout most of the year, oranges are expensive and not very good quality here in PA.  Oranges are available all year round because they are grown throughout the world and different oranges have different growing seasons.   Here is a list of orange variety by region and their availability.

Variety Region Availability
Navels Florida Oct – Dec
  California Oct – Jun
  Texas Oct – Jan
  Australia Jul – Oct
  South Africa Jun – Sep
Valencias Florida Feb – Jun
  California Jun – Dec
Juice Florida Oct – Jun
  California Sep – Apr
  Texas Oct – May
  South Africa Sep – Oct

I am not an orange connoisseur, but I do know that the South African Midknight Seedless Oranges that Costco sells in October make the most delicious fresh squeezed orange juice.  I am salivating just thinking about how fresh tasting it is.   For $12, I got a big box and have been enjoying a glass of fresh OJ every morning since then.  I think that I’ll be able to get through a second box before they are no longer available.  While everyone is enjoying fresh-picked apples, I’ll be drinking my juice.

One response to this post.

  1. I enjoy my orange jiuce too in the morning. Sometimes I add a bit of pineapple, or even mango into the mix 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

