The Vegan Experiment: Day 2


Day 2
Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal with a sliced banana and walnuts
Lunch: Baked taco filling
Snack: Snack mix
Dinner: Black bean burger, roasted vegetables, orange

Today started out stressful and continued to be stressful. My daughter had a rough night which means that I also had a rough night. The little bit of sleep that I got was interrupted, and I certainly did not wake up feeling rested. In fact, I was so groggy and lethargic that my brain immediately tried to convince me that I needed some comfort food. A nicely frosted doughnut was sounding pretty good. I was lucky in two ways this morning. Number one – we didn’t have any doughnuts and number two – I made extra oatmeal yesterday. I scooped some into a bowl and after a minute in the microwave, it was ready. Talk about fast food. I added some walnuts and sliced bananas and was feeling proud of myself. I also successfully avoided the constant voice in the head trying to convince me to make some chocolate chip cookies. While homemade cookies are usually a staple on our countertop, I knew that my experiment in veganism would be over on day two if I gave into that voice.

While the day started out on a good note, you’ll notice that there is little creativity in my food choices compared to yesterday. Some days that’s just the way the cookie crumbles. I was fortunate to have leftovers that made food preparation simple. When you’re tired and busy, it is so easy to just reach for that processed, non-healthy food just to stop the grumbling in your stomach. Consequently, I always try to have a little bit of leftovers with my meals.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Well done for ignoring the urge to bakes cookies. I doubt I’d have had such willpower. Hope your daughter will be feeling better soon 🙂

    Reply

  2. Well done for ignoring the urge to bake cookies. I doubt I’d have had such willpower. Hope your daughter will be feeling better soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

