The Vegan Experiment: Day 3


Day 3

Breakfast: Kashi GoLean crunch cereal with vanilla soy milk

Snack: Blueberry soy yogurt

Lunch: Lemon pepper tofu with quinoa and olive oil

Snack: apple Dinner:

Pasta with mushroom marinara sauce, Italian bread with vegan butter

My most significant revelation today is that I have no food cravings! This news makes me very happy. Many of my food choices are dictated by my cravings. It’s freeing to think that I can make food decisions with rational thought rather than with what my body is telling. This control will enable me to make even more healthy choices. I ate my afternoon snack of an apple because I was genuinely hungry rather than the usual thought of “it’s been a while, let’s eat.”

Another interesting observation that I made today was that my energy levels were fairly consistent. Since the sleepless nights arrived with my baby girl, I have experienced extreme exhaustion late afternoon. Around 4pm is when I usually flip on the television for my son while I rest on the couch. I didn’t have to do that today. I didn’t feel that energy slip at all. I’m confident that this experience is related entirely to the dietary changes and that a vegan diet will help me to continue to feel this good.

Dinner offered a new food experience for me. I tried vegan butter for the first time. I do not cook or eat a lot of butter, but I do think that bread with real butter is a beautiful, tasty luxury. Growing up, our house only used margarine. I didn’t even know what real butter tasted like until I was in college and have been hooked ever since. I typically cook with olive oil, but I do like the occasional side of bread and butter, and what a perfect combination of bread and pasta. Consequently, I was nervous about trading in real cream butter for vegan butter. They looked the same but would they taste the same. The consistency was a little different, but the taste was almost identical! What a relief. Butter is still in my diet, just the vegan variety.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t believe vegan butter tastes almost the same as the real stuff. That’s encouraging! Keep up the good work

    Reply

    • Thanks! Some of the vegan alternatives are a little scary. For example, vegannaise is a pretty good substitute for mayo, but vegan parmesan is horrible. Blech. My tongue shrivels at the memory of its taste.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

