The Vegan Experiment: Day 5


Day 5

Breakfast:  Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal with vanilla soy milk½ sliced banana
Lunch:  Toast with peanut butter, crackers and hummus, orange
Dinner: Stir-fry with Gardein beef tips over white rice, white wine
Snack: Pretzels

Today was another new adventure for me.  I made dinner using faux meat.  I have not consumed meat in several years, nor have I ever tried these faux meat products.  I have always held the philosophy that if you have a craving for a hot dog, eating a vegetarian version isn’t going to make it go away.  To be honest, I don’t even remember what different meats taste like.  Sometimes certain food smells elicit good memories of eating those foods.  For example, when I’m out walking and someone is barbequing hamburgers, my mouth waters a little bit as I think about all the fun times that I have had at picnics.  When I smell bacon, I remember going out to breakfast with my husband.  When I try really hard to think about what that hamburger and bacon taste like, I just can’t imagine it anymore.

According to Kathy Freston, using those faux meat products help the transition to a vegetarian diet.  You can just substitute them for the meat in your existing recipes.  I decided to give a few of them a try.  My stir-fry was pretty good and the faux meat wasn’t bad.  It changed the dish a little bit and offered something different, but I’m not sure that I enjoyed it well enough to buy more.

My largest concern was the ingredient listing.  My initial reaction was, “Wow!  Look at all the ingredients!”  If the health benefits of a vegan diet originate from eating a more natural, less processed diet, then this product isn’t helping.  Then I looked a little more closely at the ingredients, and I actually recognized each one.  I guess it isn’t that bad after all.

Stir Fry

 Sauce:
1 tbs cornstarch
1 tsp soysauce
¾ cup vegetable broth
1 tsp sesame oil

Any vegetables you want

  1.  Stir-fry vegetables in vegetable oil.
  2. When the vegetables are tender, add sauce.
  3. Bring sauce to boiling then reduce to a simmer and add Gardein
  4. Cook for 4 minutes.
  5. Let stand for a couple of minutes before serving over rice.
6 responses to this post.

  1. This looks like a very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    I love sharing recipes also. I believe everyone can enjoy them. Also you can get our recipes on Twitter

    Try This Pasta Dinner Recipe

    Reply

  2. Your stir fry does sound really tasty. Might give it a go next week when I get chance. Yum yum!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mauri on June 25, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Try fake sausage with spaghetti. The veggie chorizo goes really nice in a tofu scramble.

    Try boca crumbles in a chili. Your meat eating husband wont know the difference. Promise!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

