The Vegan Experiment: Day 6


Day 6

Breakfast: Morningstar Veggie Sausage with a slice of vegan cheese
Snack: Celery with peanut butter
Lunch: Crackers and hummus, Snack mix
Dinner: Tacos filled with rice, black beans, corn and salsa

I feel different on the vegan diet. There is no question that something has happened to my body chemistry in just these few short days that is significant. I have no food cravings. When I refer to a food craving, I mean that intense desire to consume something particular. When you crave something, you can try to substitute something else for it, but you won’t be satisfied until you eat that particular piece of food.

I used to experience these food cravings quite frequently, and mostly, for sweets. I would make a batch of cookies just because I couldn’t stop thinking about warm cookies right out of the oven. The problem with craving sweets is that once you have a little bit of something sweet, you can’t help but want more and more. I think that has to do with rising and lowering blood sugar levels.

On the vegan diet, your blood sugar stays consistent and those food cravings are gone. You may have that feeling that you’re in the mood for a specific food, but that intense desire for any item is gone. It truly is liberating. I give more thought to my meal choices, but I’m not necessarily thinking about food. I feel in complete control of my diet.

Salsa
2 tomatoes
1 clove garlic
2 tbs of chopped red onion
Handful of cilantro
1 tsp of lime juice

Cut tomatoes into quarters and remove seeds. Food process to desired consistency.

Leave a Reply

