The Vegan Experiment: Day 8


Day 8

Breakfast: Cheerios with vanilla soy milk, banana
Lunch: Pasta Primavera with Gardein Chick’n Scallopini
Snack: Snack mix (with Cheerios)
Dinner: Whole wheat pizza with roasted veggies

I cheated again! And I didn’t even know that I was cheating. In fact, I cheated multiple times in the last week. The veggie sausage that I was eating and the black bean burger both have egg whites in them. I really like those black bean burgers too. They are delicious, filling and a great fast dinner option. I guess I’ll start making some homemade black bean burgers again, although I’m still hunting for that perfect recipe. Most of my attempts have been ok. The resulting burger is always mediocre. I’ll just keep trying.

I also cheated by eating honey. My favorite cereal is Kashi GoLean. It is sweetened with honey and honey is off the list. I tried to find a replacement cereal, but I discovered that a lot of cereals are sweetened with honey. In fact, a lot of products are sweetened with honey. I started getting frustrated. Honey – what’s the big deal? Bees make honey. We eat honey. Ergo – we give purpose to a bee’s life. Well, it isn’t that simple, and it is actually a lot uglier than my simple rationale.

I turned to my friend Google and started reading. It turns out that beekeepers don’t just leave the bees alone to make honey and take the product. It’s much more artificial than that and unnatural. Apparently, bees make honey to feed themselves. While they may produce extra honey that can be enjoyed by us, beekeepers will take all of the produced honey and feed the bees sugar syrup. That seems kind of cruel. They don’t even get to reap the benefits of their hard work. The queen bee suffers another unnatural existence. While the queen bee typically lives 5 years or so and will select her successor, beekeepers will kill off the queen bee after about 2 years and force a replacement queen that must endure an arduous travel experience just to get to her new home. The purpose is to keep honey production at its highest. There is a host of other deviations from the natural process of honey production that makes you feel a bit uncomfortable when you learn about them. Maybe I’m ok with not eating honey.

I remember telling my husband once that I would be willing to eat meat if animals were left to roam, eat what they want and become my dinner because I was hungry. Basically I’m describing life from hundreds of years ago. No animal lives a life like that today. Even those free range cattle and chickens are born with the intention to become someone’s meal some day. Bees fall into that category too. If bees were left to make honey the way nature intended, and we were able to enjoy the excess then the story would be different.

Sometimes ignorance is bliss, but instead I choose to be informed. I vow to be more diligent in finding products not sweetened with honey.

On a brighter note, I lost a pound in the last week!

Whole Wheat Pizza

½ tsp sugar
1 ½ cups warm water (120 degrees)*
1 tbsp active dry yeast
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp olive oil
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

*Tip – most water heaters are set to 120 degrees. Just run your faucet on the hottest setting and get the hot water that you need from there.)

1. Mix sugar and water. Add yeast to the top of the water and let sit for 10 minutes until foamy.
2. Add salt and olive oil
3.  Mix in wheat flour and 1 cup of the all-purpose flour until dough starts to form.
4.  Turn out onto a floured surface and knead in remaining flour. Knead for ~10 minutes.
5.  Cover and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour.
6.  Divide into 2 balls. Cover and let rise for 45 minutes.
7.  Roll or toss pizza dough into desired thickness. Top with favorite toppings and cook in a 425 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mauri on June 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Honey replacement = agave nectar. You can find this at trader joes. I use on everything.

    Reply

    • Thanks for the tip! I actually have agave nectar but I’ve never used it. I bought it for a recipe that I wanted to try (but never made) and it has been sitting unopened in my cabinet ever since.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

