The Vegan Experiment: Day 9


Day 9

Breakfast: Oatmeal with walnuts and banana
Lunch: Whole wheat pizza with roasted veggies
Snack: Crackers and hummus
Dinner: Seitan with roasted potatoes and brussel sprouts, peas, pineapple

Seitan is a new food for me, and I know now that I don’t like it. Seitan is essentially wheat gluten and is supposedly a popular meat substitute for vegetarians. When you Google seitan recipes, you’ll get lots of results for “delicious” seitan recipes, and despite its appearance you can’t imagine that it would taste bad.  So many people seem to love it.  Seitan is also known as wheat meat, gluten meat and even mock duck. Check out its Wikipedia entry for more information. While I was cooking it, I could see why people would use it as a meat substitute. It actually started to look a little like meat, but it didn’t taste like meat. It’s been a while since I have eaten meat, but seitan did not fool me. It had a really chewy almost gummy taste to it. Dinner just included my son and me, and I served it to him. He did eat it without complaint. In fact, I think he ate more than I did.

This is what it looked like when I opened the package (I know, you’re wondering why I went forward with actually cooking and eating this):

I don’t have real high hopes for ever liking seitan. It might join the ranks of lima beans in my culinary menu – no matter how many times I’ll try it, I just never like it.  I’m not going to rush out and buy more any time soon, but I would be willing to give it another chance if an experience seitan preparer offers sound advice on how to cook it because the first attempt will not be a repeat.

If you are interested in trying something new, here is how I prepared it. Let me know what you think!

Seitan

Brown seitan in an oiled skillet. Add 2 tbsp of barbecue sauce, 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 2 tbsp of water. Mix well with the seitan and cook until sauce is thick.

Have you ever made anything that looked terrible but tasted great? 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mauri on June 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Never tried seitan, but you need to get on the tempeh bus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

