The Vegan Experiment: Day 10


Day 10

Breakfast:  Oatmeal with walnuts and banana
Snack: Almonds
Lunch:  Toast with peanut butter, crackers and hummus
Snack:  Apple
Dinner: Tempeh lettuce wraps (tomato, carrots and quinoa), corn and pineapple

Let me start by saying that I love tempeh! After last night’s experience with seitan, I was very hesitant to try this.  I am so glad that I did.  I had never had it before nor had I ever even heard of it until this diet.  You can find it next to the tofu and also a soy product, but it’s much heartier than tofu and very easy to prepare.  It’s made of soybeans that are somehow bound together in patty, and it almost has a nutty flavor.  I don’t even know if that is the best way to describe it.  I cooked it according to the instructions on the packaging and was very happy with the results.  Apparently, cooking it is essential or else it can be very bitter. 

While the picture doesn’t make you start to salivate, trust me when I say that this is tasty.

I sliced it into strips and sautéd it in some olive oil until it browned a little bit.  Then I turned the heat way down low and let the pan cool down a little bit and then added some soy sauce.  The soy sauce kind of sizzled away but not before it had flavored the tempeh.  So good.  The whole cooking process takes about 5 minutes.  I can think of a bunch of ways to eat this – in stir fries, as a burger, as a sandwich filler, even in tacos.  It is delicious and a good source of protein (about 18 grams per serving). This was a much better experience compared to the seitan.

What foods do you like that may not be so pretty to look at?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mauri on June 29, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Amy. You can maranade tempeh. You boil it first for twenty minutes to open it up and then stick it into marinade. It absorbs the flavor quite well utilizing this method.

    Reply

  2. […] right now.  It’s a great protein option for a meal and totally delicious.  I discovered tempeh during my vegan experiment and have been hooked ever since.  This sandwich was a great new way to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

