The Vegan Experiment: Day 11


Day 11

Breakfast:  Oatmeal with walnuts and banana
Lunch:  Tempeh with quinoa and olive oil, crackers and hummus
Snack:  Apple
Dinner: Vegetable Lo Mein (take-out!)

It is critical in my household that we have a handful of quick and easy to prepare meals for those crazy nights when making dinner seems as insurmountable as climbing Mt. Everest.  We have several.  They include baked tacos which you can literally prepare in as little as 10 minutes and then bake for 30, plain old tacos (heat up some black beans and then assemble), frozen burgers (Boca, Black Bean, Veggie, etc) and frozen vegetables, frozen pizza, and of course, for my 2 year old, there are always chicken nuggets.  Some of these aren’t the most healthful choices, but I work and it is hard to get home and get dinner ready and on the table before the kids need to start getting ready for bed.

In this Vegan experiment, several of these choices are no longer on the list.  Obviously, frozen pizza is off the list.  I looked but could not find a frozen pizza without cheese.  As I previously mentioned, those black bean burgers are made with egg whites.  Anything taco-ish is still an option, but it’s challenging to get in the mood for some tacos without cheese (and I’m not sold on the Vegan cheeses yet).

We almost always cook and eat our meals at our home.  I seriously think that we eat out maybe once every other month.  We do occasionally order a pizza or Chinese, but that’s also a rare occasion.  Tonight I had no desire to cook, nor was I in the mood for anything on our diminished list of go-to meals.  We decided that Chinese take-out was the way to go.

In the past, I almost always order something with shrimp in it.  Since that wasn’t an option tonight, I went with the Vegetable Lo Mein.   Let me tell you how surprised I was at how good it was!  If I would have known how tasty it was, I would have been ordering it well before now.  I also noticed that Chinese food actually has a lot of vegan options.  I had more than 1 or 2 choices from the menu.  Even though I am not frequent outside diner, I was happy to see that those occasional nights at a restaurant or getting take-out are still options on a vegan diet.

I guess those quick vegan meals that we sometimes need at the end of the day will eventually come about.  I remember when I first became a vegetarian, the first question that I had was “What should I make for dinner?”  Now here I am with an arsenal for dinner options and not one includes meat.  Changing diets is an evolution that happens with education and experimentation.  I just need to be creative and give it time.

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mauri on July 1, 2011 at 1:10 am

    The going out thing is hard. I get very frustrated sometimes. However Thai and Vietnamese are good options. Thank god we have quite a few options close by. Love the blog.

    Reply

    • Another problem that I have found is that menu items that sound veg are not. Like risottos and soups often use chicken broth. You need to know a something about cooking when ordering.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

