The Vegan Experiment: Day 12


Day 12

Breakfast:  Oatmeal squares with vanilla soy milk
Snack: Almonds
Lunch: Tempeh sandwich with vegannaise and vegan cheese, crackers
Dinner:  Boca burger with bbq sauce on a flour tortilla, corn

I read an article in Whole Living magazine about a woman whose husband had become a vegetarian.  The article was written from the wife’s perspective and focused on her frustration about the changes in lifestyle that his conversion caused.  They are out to dinner at a restaurant where she has a happy memory of them splitting a shrimp appetizer from years ago.  She thinks for such a special night out, he will surely forgo the vegetarian diet to recreate that previous occasion when they shared that appetizer.  He politely and firmly refuses but encourages her to order it for herself.  She is upset by his unwillingness to forsake his ethical beliefs for her.

I felt sorry for this man.  As we evolve, our viewpoints and perspectives change.  The result could be that someone who had no problem eating a rack of ribs suddenly refuses to eat meat as a humane gesture towards animals.  It must be very difficult to make this change and not have support from your loved ones.

I feel very fortunate.  While my husband is not a vegetarian and definitely, not a vegan, he is still a supportive partner.  When I said years ago that I wanted to give up meat, he said go for it.  When I proposed this experiment, he again said go for it.  Maybe he never thought that I would stick to these changes, but he was and still is supportive.  He eats what I prepare and if he cooks, he always makes me something that is vegetarian.  Since I do most of the cooking, he may just be going along for the ride to ensure he gets dinner, but at the end of the day, I know that he will never try to pull me back to gobbling bacon and noshing a hamburger.

Leave a Reply

