The Vegan Experiment: Day 14


Day 14

Breakfast:  Oatmeal Squares cereal with vanilla soy milk, orange
Snack:  Apple
Lunch: Kashi granola bar, peanuts, pretzels, twizzlers
Dinner:  Peanut butter on whole wheat toast, jelly beans

You’re probably looking at what I ate today and wondering where the healthful part of the vegan diet went.  I have a good excuse.  I did a charity walk today.  There you go.  That’s my excuse.  We walked 4.2 miles with the allure of a free lunch afterwards only for me to discover that there was not one vegan option except for the peanuts, pretzels and twizzlers.  Fortunately, I had brought the granola bar.  The organizers of the event had plenty of hamburgers, hot dogs, potato salad, etc but nothing vegan.  I was extremely disappointed.  I understand that these events need to take what is donated but how ironic is it that after encouraging people to walk several miles they serve nothing healthy.

After a long drive home, no one was in the mood to cook, so I stuck to my old stand by – peanut butter toast.  Since, the sweets from my lunch were already calling me to add more sweet stuff to my belly, the jelly beans didn’t stand a chance.  Ugh.  Back on track tomorrow.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I hope you let the organizers know that you’d like to see a vegan option in the future! It’s true that charitable events often serve donated food, but it’s not always ALL donated! Alerting them to participants’ veganism might mean they have something available for those who ask next time.

    Reply

    • Unfortunately, I didn’t say anything. I didn’t realize that it wasn’t all donated. I thought that it was just what they could get. Thanks for that piece of information. Next time I will speak up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

