The Vegan Experiment: Day 15


Day 15

Breakfast:  Oatmeal, soy milk, banana
Lunch:  Tofu salad on whole wheat toast, cheese, pretzels
Snack:  Almonds
Dinner:  Soft tacos with black beans, onions and red pepper, orange

To start out – I lost 3 pounds!  My first reaction was complete shock and then I worked on this analysis of what I ate over the last 3 days, and the shock wore away.  Despite the large amount of food that I have been eating, I really haven’t been consuming all that many calories.  To mantain my weight, I need to eat about 2100 calories a day.  I am eating well under that amount.  It still doesn’t explain a 3 pound weight loss.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been exercising more.  Maybe I was carrying water weight last week.  Whatever.  I will take it.

 

Here are the totals from my 3 day analysis.   Besides the low calories, you should notice that my fat is low and my fiber and protein numbers are way above what I need.  On day 1, my fat consumption was a little high and overall, I have eaten too much sodium.  I’m sure that is from the processed foods that I eat, like crackers and hummus.  My sugar is higher than my RDA, but I’m not overly concerned with that.  A lot of that sugar came from fruit, especially pineapple.  My take-away from this exercise is to watch the amount of processed foods that I eat.  I need to get those sodium numbers down.

Tofu Salad

12 oz firm tofu
1 tsp tumeric
2 tbs chopped red pepper
2 tbs chopped sweet onion
2 tbs Vegannaise

1.  Drain the tofu
2.  Crumble the tofu and mix all the ingredients together.

Leave a Reply

