The Vegan Experiment: Day 16


Day 16

Breakfast: Oatmeal squares with vanilla soy milk, banana
Lunch: Tofu salad on wheat toast, vegan cheese, pretzels, apple
Snack: Almonds, orange
Dinner: Salad (leafy greens, sun-dried tomatoes, granny smith apples, balsamic vinaigrette), vegetable curry, brown rice

Tonight was a big night. It was the first time in ages that my husband and I got a babysitter and went out to dinner. For this special occasion, I had full intentions of cheating on this diet. I hadn’t been out to dinner in so long and didn’t want to be more limited than I normally am with my diet. I got lucky. We decided to go to an Asian Fusion place that actually had several menu options that just happen to be vegan. These jumped out at me as soon as I started perusing the menu. My eyes kept being drawn back to them and some guilty thoughts started slowly creeping in regarding my plans to cheat. Finally, I couldn’t fight the guilt and ordered a vegan dinner. I even refrained from tasting my husband’s calamari appetizer. It did look delicious, but I was afraid that I would have big regrets later. At the end of the day, I am extremely proud of myself for staying on my diet and thoroughly enjoyed my dinner.

My dish had strips of tofu in it. The tofu pieces were kind of chewy and crispy. I have to learn how to cook tofu this way. The few times that I have tried to make tofu as a main course or even part of a main course have been disastrous, but this was delicious. What am I doing wrong?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lennonzgal on July 9, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Check http://www.oysterevangelist.com – I believe she’s posted a couple of times how to cook tofu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

