The Vegan Experiment: Day 17


Day 17

Breakfast: Kashi Island Vanilla with vanilla soy milk, banana
Lunch:  Tofu salad with vegan cheese on whole wheat toast, pretzels
Snack:  Pineapple
Dinner: Stir-Fry with brown rice

I enjoy cooking.  I find chopping vegetables and stirring sautéing onions calming and relaxing.  I love the smell of food cooking, especially as the smells change with every additional ingredient. I don’t have the time to cook every day, but the days I get the time and opportunity to attempt a challenging meal, I try to relax and enjoy the process. 

 As a vegetarian, many of my dishes include vegetables.  I’m sure that isn’t a surprise.  The resulting product is always something full of color.  Over the years, I have discovered that I love colorful meals.  It makes me excited to eat.  Tonight’s dinner was one of those colorful dishes (Sorry that I didn’t take a picture!).  It looked great on a plate, and I was happy to see my son dig in with gusto.

Last summer, we went to the shore for vacation and ate many meals out.  My son, who was 1 at the time, frequently didn’t eat much at those meals.  I think that he too is attracted to colorful plates of food.  A meal of chicken fingers and French fries is pretty blah looking.  Maybe that’s why so many kids like ketchup.  It may not be for taste but the shock of color that it adds to the plate.   Now that he is a little older, my son remembers that a French fry tastes good and is not so turned off by the color or should I say the lack of color, but he still gravitates towards the bright green of broccoli and the orange of carrots.  I try to make sure that he gets these brightly colored foods regularly so that the attraction that has developed isn’t lost.  I don’t want him to think that a blah colored meal is the norm and the bright colors of vegetables don’t belong.  A great example is cauliflower.  My vegetable loving son refused to eat cauliflower.  One of the few times that we actually got him to put it in his mouth, he loved it.  He doesn’t choose to pick it up from his plate because it’s white, a boring color.  Poor cauliflower – cursed just because it’s boring to look at. 

There are days when there just isn’t time to chop and sauté and bake a dinner filled with fresh vegetables.  I admit that those are chicken nugget nights for him.  Alongside those chicken nuggets will always be a colorful vegetable.  I keep a supply of frozen organic vegetables in the freezer.  I pour a serving in a bowl, cover them with water, and microwave them for 90 seconds.  I’m proud to say that he always eats that serving of veggies before the chicken nuggets.

Stir-Fry Sauce

3 tbsp soy sauce
3 tbsp red wine vinegar
3tbsp water
1tbsp cornstarch
1 ½ tsp sugar

Mix together sauce ingredients and set aside.

Saute your choice of vegetables in olive oil until tender.  Green beans, sweet onion, red pepper, mushrooms and pineapple is an awesome combination.   After the vegetables are mostly cooked, pour in the sauce.  Bring to a boil and then simmer until sauce is thick.  Serve over brown rice.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I really enjoyed this post. It is interesting that children do seem drawn to colorful foods.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lennonzgal on July 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Try growing purple varieties of cauliflower … I’ll bet he’d get a kick out of it!

    Reply

  3. I’m always so impressed that your meal choices are so varied, when so many people would think eating Vegan food could be boring. Your stir fry sauce sounds very versatile and very healthy too. Will give it a try this weekend I think 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you. I need variety in my diet. I could never be someone who eats the same thing every day. I would probably revert back to the typical comfort foods – bread, cookies, pizza, etc.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

