The Vegan Experiment: Day 20


Day 20
Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, banana
Lunch: Peanut butter and jelly on whole wheat bread, chips, mandarin orange
Snack: Animal crackers
Dinner: Whole wheat pasta with marinara sauce and meat-free ground beef and veggies

First of all, I am still not a fan of faux meat. There is just something about the texture that makes me want to gag. This one was definitely not a winner. It was so bad that I didn’t even save the leftovers. I’m not willing to throw in the towel yet, but I’m slowly working through my options without success. Maybe I’ll just stick to beans as my meat substitute.

Secondly, I want to extol the praises of whole grains. Awhile ago, I read on someone else’s blog that she picks a whole grain and then plans her meal around that item. I thought that was a little weird, but I’m starting to get it. Whole grains make you feel full. This fact is essential to anyone who is trying to master the balance of eating appropriate amounts of food versus feeling hungry. Kathy Freston said in her book that usually has a breakfast of brown rice with nuts and maybe fruit. When I first read that I kind of chuckled, who eats rice for breakfast.? Rice isn’t a breakfast food. I’m learning that maybe it should be. Your body goes for hours overnight without food. It stands to reason that you need to fuel yourself in the mornings with something that is going to be satisfying for a long time.

I just read someone’s blog post today in which she said that she had a rice bowl for breakfast. It sounded really good and inspiring. It may have taken me 20 days to learn this lesson, but whole grains should be part of everyone’s diet daily.

Leave a Reply

