The Vegan Experiment: Day 21


Day 21

Breakfast:  Oatmeal with brown sugar and banana
Lunch:  2 slices of whole wheat toast with peanut butter
Snack:  Cashews
Dinner:  Whole wheat pizza with sauce, roasted onions and roasted green beans

OMG! Roasted green beans are delicious!  I typically only think of roasting the typical roasting vegetables – potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions, carrots, beets, etc.  I decided to get a little crazy tonight and roast green beans.  They were so much better than steaming them.  I could have eaten them as a snack.  Combined with the roasted onions and pizza sauce, I didn’t even slightly miss the cheese on my pizza.  It would have masked the flavor of my vegetables. 

My other experience of the day was my search for farro.  I have a recipe for a farro salad that I would like to try and attempted to buy some during my weekly shopping trip.  First of all, you may be asking what farro is.  In a nutshell, it’s a whole grain.  I’ve read that it is compared with barley and can be used interchangeably.  I have barley in pantry but really want to try farro in this dish and see what it tastes like for myself.  It is full of protein and high in fiber but not sold in my grocery store, not even in the natural foods section.  I’m going to search for it tomorrow at Whole Foods and am keeping my fingers crossed that I will find it.  Stay tuned for my review.

Leave a Reply

