The Vegan Experiment: Day 22


Day 22

Breakfast: Kashi Island Vanilla cereal with soy milk
Lunch: Whole wheat pizza, orange
Snack: Crackers and hummus
Dinner: Peanut butter and jelly on whole wheat toast, fruit salad

I’ve lost another pound! Kathy Freston was right when she said that following a vegan diet will help you slim up without even thinking about food portions. I’m also starting my 4th and final week of this experiment. It hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be. It helps that I already wasn’t eating meat before I started, but some of the food substitutes have been difficult. I really miss milk. I’m surprised by that. I thought that I would miss other things more, like milk chocolate and cookies. The truth is that I really don’t like soy milk or almond milk. I was thinking about trying rice milk, but I don’t think that it would satisfy my milk craving. I’m sitting here wondering if I could go the rest of my life with milk. That would be a tough change for me to make.

I also had success in finding farro today at Whole Foods. I find it disappointing and frustrating that my grocery store does not carry some of these foods that are so good for you but a little different. I don’t have the opportunity to frequent multiple grocery stores. My regular grocery store isn’t that close to Whole Foods and the Whole Foods isn’t that big, which doesn’t enable me to really do all of my shopping.

4 responses to this post.

  1. This is awesome! Congrats on the weight loss. What type of soy / almond milks have you tried? Each brand is considerably different. For example, I do not like Silk brand almond or soy milks, but my husband does.

    Reply

    • I didn’t realize that. I tried Silk soy milk. I can’t remember the brand of the almond milk. I’ll try a different brand and see if I like it any better. Thanks for the tip!

      Reply

  2. I know you weren’t doing this experiment to lose weight, but how great that you’ve lost some without even thinking about it! I’ve tried rice milk before and I did prefer it to soy, as I found it was slightly creamier. Well done on sticking to the Vegan experiement for so long!

    Reply

    • After reading your comment, I’m going to give rice milk a try. I think that you figured out what my problem is with these milks. They aren’t creamy like cow’s milk. They always look and taste watery. I’ll get some rice milk this weekend and see how it goes. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

