The Vegan Experiment: Day 24


Day 24

Breakfast: Oatmeal with walnuts and banana
Lunch: Baja Fresh Baja Burrito – no cheese or meat with pinto beans
Snack: Animal crackers
Dinner: Gardein Mandarin Chick’n, Brown rice salad

I gave faux meat yet another try and was again disappointed. It looks like meat, but it does not taste like meat. In fact, I think that substituting faux meat for real meat for a new vegetarian might result in a big failure in that person’s attempt to adopt a vegetarian lifestyle. It just doesn’t taste good. You might be thinking that it is just my opinion, but you should know that I like most foods except for anything with dill in it and lima beans. No more faux meat for me. I’m sticking with beans, tempeh and I will keep working on tofu.

I have a complaint about yet another ingredient substitute. The citrus vinaigrette recipe came from 101cookbooks.com. It calls for 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese. I found a vegan version of parmesan at the grocery store. The first time I made this vinaigrette, I added the cheese per the recipe. I was skeptical because the cheese didn’t smell all that good and the taste was a little sketchy, but I was optimistic that combined with other ingredients you would never know it wasn’t real parmesan. Let’s just say that the vinaigrette was made a second time without the faux parmesan cheese and the cheese went in the garbage. Another strikeout for fake food.

Brown Rice Salad

2 cups cooked brown rice
1 sweet onion, chopped into big chunks
1 yellow pepper
1 cup cooked peas
1 cup chopped green leaf lettuce
citrus vinaigrette

1. Toss onion and pepper with olive oil, salt and pepper
2. Roast onion and pepper for 40 minutes in a 400 degree oven. Chop into smaller pieces.
3. Add all ingredients together.
4. Toss with citrus vinaigrette to taste.

Citrus Vinaigrette

1 finely chopped shallot
zest of 1 mandarin orange
juice of 2 mandarin oranges
2/3 cup of olive oil
1 tbsp of white wine vinegar

Mix all ingredients together.

Leave a Reply

