The Vegan Experiment: Day 28


Day 28

Breakfast:  2 slices of whole wheat toast with peanut butter
Snack: Cashews
Lunch: Lemon pepper tofu, farro salad, animal crackers
Snack: Apple
Dinner:  2 tacos with refried beans, salsa and guacamole

Trying to convert to veganism can be challenging.  You need to think out of the box and be creative.  Fortunately, there are tons of resources out there to help you reinvent what your stereotypical dinner is.  I’m talking about the internet.  Google vegan recipes, and you’ll get millions of results.  Millions.  I just googled vegan recipes, and it came back with “About 6,400,000 results.”

Sometimes you just don’t have the time, energy, ingredients or creative juices flowing to try something new, but when you feel like experimenting – go for it.  Try new things.  Not all children are like my son, but as long as he likes the way a piece of food looks, he’ll try it.  He eats all sorts of things.  I caught him reaching up on to the counter and swiping a handful of chopped red pepper once.  He ate all of it. I’ve heard that this experimentation will only last until he is about 3, so until then I will take advantage of it.

 We can all learn a lot from him.  We get so used to eating the same things just in a different rotation because it’s easy, it’s comfortable, and most of all because it’s known.  Children don’t have that luxury.  Everything is new.  They have to try new things or else they’ll never figure out what they like.  We should all be willing to try new things.  Maybe even try old things that we don’t think we like.  I don’t like lima beans or dill.  Every once in a while, I’ll eat some pickle to see if I still don’t like dill.

Going through this experience, I have learned about foods that I didn’t even know existed.  Some I didn’t like(faux meats!) but many I did (tempeh!).  Everyone should try something new once in a while.  Get out of your food ruts and entice your palate with something different.  You never know – you may surprise yourself.

Leave a Reply

