Bye-Bye P90X, Hello Sidewalk


I’m not surprised that my passion for P90X has waned. It’s only been 5 weeks. I’m very proud to say that my husband is still going strong, but I missed my laid-back, tv-watching, early-to-bed (if you can call 11pm early) nights. We were in a routine of putting the kids to bed and then heading to our pseudo-basement gym and working out. Sounds great, huh? I had a workout partner that was committed to the exercise. How much more motivation did I need?

One issue for me was that I don’t enjoy exercising at night. Exercising when you feel your best is a cardinal rule for sticking to a fitness routine, and I was breaking it. I am a morning person, always have been, and despite many attempts to make me into a sleep-late, up-all-night person, I am still a morning person. If we were working out at 7pm and then having some downtime before bed, I’d be ok with that but lifting weights at 9pm just doesn’t mentally work for me.

The workouts themselves are challenging or maybe I should say that they are as challenging as you make them. The truth is that I don’t really like lifting weights or doing hundreds of pushups. I like to move. Cardio has always been my thing. Even though it is 2011 and very uncool, put me in a step aerobics class, and I’ll be in my glory. I won’t deny that the plyometrics session is a really intense cardio workout, and I will admit that I loved the kenpo workout, but I just didn’t like all the other workouts enough to stay committed.

I knew that I was faltering with the workout program and thought that a week off would give me the rest I needed physically and mentally to hop back on the P90X train. After that week, I still hadn’t found my motivation and instead started finding excuses – “I’m fighting a cold”, “I have so much to do around the house”, “I need to run an errand”. Now I really didn’t know what to do. I need exercise in my life but what should I do if P90X isn’t it. I decided it was time to strap on the running shoes and hit the pavement again.

I got up early yesterday morning and headed out for the first time since the beginning of June when I did a 5K with my sister. I wasn’t sure what to expect. After all of my P90X workouts, I felt strong but wasn’t sure if I had the stamina to run for any period of time. Imagine my surprise when I knocked out a 5K like it was nothing. It wasn’t a fast run (I’m not a very fast runner), but I was excited to be out there moving. It was humid and I worked up a sweat for 6am but felt great.

For all of you morning –haters, you don’t know what you’re missing. Early mornings are special. There is something about the sun just coming up and the quiet of the neighborhood that is a unique experience. We walk regularly in the same neighborhood, and people are always out working on their lawns or playing with the kids. The mornings are empty of that. You might pass a few other runners that you wave to because you’re both part of that special morning club of runners (kind of like how motorcycle riders wave to each other). You’ll definitely see people out walking their dogs and maybe an occasional walker. I confess that as I did my little wave to the other runners that I felt a little bit of a fraud. After all, it was only my first day back.

I returned home feeling pumped for 2 reasons. Number 1- I had actually gotten back on the saddle and number 2 – I didn’t feel like I was starting from the couch. My body felt like it was ready for the runs. I guess I can thank Tony Horton for that. Then today came, and boy, am I sore. My quads are sore. My back is sore. My abs are sore. While I worked all of these muscles in P90X, I guess running is just too different of an exercise, and my body really wasn’t quite that ready. Oh well. Muscles heal. It just keeps getting better from here, and I’m still psyched for my run tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

