Potato Casserole – He Had 2 Helpings!


I frequently try new recipes, and they are all geared towards my food interests.  That means they are all vegetarian.  Lately, I have concluded that Steve is either grateful that I am willing to cook or genuinely likes my new cooking adventures because he always tries everything.  Sometimes he isn’t too crazy about what is sitting on the plate before him, but he still tries it.  Everything is edible, and I don’t think that he has ever refused to eat anything.   Noticing this willingness to try new things,  I’ve been entering dangerous waters and throwing in some foods that I know that he isn’t crazy about.  Last night was a good example.

Steve doesn’t like potatoes.  Besides French fries, he’ll eat roasted potatoes but only if they are cut up really small and roasted so long that their insides taste like French fries.  I don’t like baked potatoes either, but I’m a little more flexible in my potato consumption.  I found a recipe on AllRecipes.com and decided to make a few modifications and give it a go.  I like making dinners that enable me to do early prep work (chopping when a kid doesn’t need to be held), have a short assembly time, and then it bakes in the oven while I go back to playing with the kids.  Casseroles work really well for me.

I call this Potato Casserole despite AllRecipes.com listing it as Potato Pizza because I cooked it in a 13×9 baking dish, and the end result was that it looked like a casserole.  This dish is fantastic because it has loads of veggies in it, protein from the tofu and eggs, complex carbs from the potatoes, and dairy from cheese.  I used CalorieKing to get an approximate calorie count and was happy to discover that the entire casserole has approximately 2308 calories, which means that 1/9th or 1 serving is only 256 calories!   For all you locals out there, now is the time to make it because it has zucchini, yellow squash, and tomatoes.  Tis the season for zucchini!

Potato Casserole adapted from Potato Pizza

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cooking Time: Total 35 minutes

3 potatoes, shredded (used food processor)
1 onion, finely chopped (used food processor)
2 eggs
1/4 cup flour
2 small zucchinis, thinly sliced (used food processor)
2 small yellow squashes, thinly sliced ((used food processor)
1/2 med onion, thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves (or ample dash of garlic powder if you don’t have fresh garlic)
7 oz extra firm tofu, crumbled (1/2 a block)
1 jar marinara sauce
2 tomatoes, thinly sliced
1 cup mozzarella, optional (couldn’t really taste the cheese while eating)

1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. Spray a 13×9 dish with cooking spray.


2. Mix the shredded potato, chopped onion, flour, and eggs together. Press into the bottom of the pan and Bake for 20 minutes. Spray top with olive oil (or cooking spray) and broil for 5 minutes.


3. Saute squash, zucchini, sliced onion, garlic, and tofu in 1 tbsp of olive oil until tender.
4. Pour mixture on to top of cooked potato, pour jar of sauce over top, sprinkle cheese over surface and then add the sliced tomatoes. Bake for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Sorry for the lack of and not so great pictures.  Trying to feed myself, Steve, the baby, and trying to convince my son that yes, he really does like all the food on his plate makes taking pictures low priority!  BTW – he did end up eating everything on his plate.

Leave a Reply

