Tempeh Hummus Wraps


I was surveying my fridge yesterday for lunch and wondering what new, healthy combination I could try other than my typical cheese sandwich.  I spied a package of tempeh in the back and Romaine lettuce in the vegetable crisper and an idea popped into my head.  A few weeks ago I was reading Iowa Girl Eats and glossed over a post called Buffalo Chicken BLAT Wraps.  While I would have never have made the recipe because bacon isn’t on a vegetarian’s menu, the Romaine lettuce must have stuck in my mind as an alternative to a wrap, bread, etc.  Voila! I was inspired to make Tempeh Lettuce Sandwiches.

If you have never tried to tempeh, make sure it is on your shopping list right now.  It’s a great protein option for a meal and totally delicious.  I discovered tempeh during my vegan experiment and have been hooked ever since.  This sandwich was a great new way to enjoy it.  The tempeh is  a great protein source to keep you full and satisfied.  The hummus gives a rich and robust flavor.  The red pepper adds a sweet crunch, and the lettuce adds a crisp finish to each bite.

Ingredients

4 oz of tempeh
Olive oil
Salt & pepper
Hummus (Sabra is my favorite brand!)
Red pepper slices
Fresh cilantro
Romaine Lettuce leaves

1.  Saute tempeh in olive oil until browned on both sides.  Season with salt and pepper.\


2.  Spread hummus on lettuce leaf.


3.  Add tempeh and red pepper.  Garnish with cilantro.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

