Making Stainless Steel Look Like New…Without Chemicals


In December, we purchased new stainless steel appliances.   They look beautiful, but the fingerprints that accumulate on them is ridiculous!  My son and daughter like to help close the doors, so there are always handprints starting around 2 feet from the bottom of the fridge.   I have tried everything to clean them and make them look like new with no success.

From previous posts, you may remember that for the past few years, I have been trying to use non-chemical cleaners.  To combat the handprints, I have tried my all-purpose cleaner, wet rags, straight vinegar and baking soda.  Nothing worked, except for the baking soda but what a mess!  I broke down and bought some pledge because the guy at the store told me that is what they use to clean the appliances on display.  That didn’t work.  I’ve even tried some Windex with no luck.

Yesterday I did what I should have done a long time ago.  I googled it.  I found this link and decided to give it a try.  All you need to do is wipe down the fridge with olive oil and then wipe it down with white vinegar.  Sounds easy, but I admit that I was skeptical. I was shocked to see that it worked perfectly.  My fridge looks brand new!  I went to bed and that fridge had zero handprints or fingerprints anywhere on it.  Of course, this morning all of that changed, but at least now I have an easy way to clean my appliances without using chemicals.

Leave a Reply

