Cleaning Chemical Free


I have written in the past about my commitment to use non-toxic cleaners to clean my home.  I admit that I do have a few exceptions.  I still use bleach in my sinks and my toilets, diluted with water, to disinfect.  I also still use glass cleaner for windows and mirrors and dishwasher soap for my dishwasher.  Other than that, my cleaning supplies consist of water, vinegar, baking soda and elbow grease.  Now before you question the cleanliness of my house, I assure you that we live in a clean and sanitary environment.  We just don’t have to worry about inhaling dangerous fumes, absorbing nasty chemicals through our skin or our kids finding their way to toxic chemicals that could have fatal outcomes if ingested (don’t worry – I keep the bleach, etc locked up on a high shelf).

I was reassured with my decision when I read the Environmental Working Group’s list of worst household cleaners for your health.  They include the following – note that a Simple Green product is on the list:  

  • Mop & Glo Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner
  • Tarn-X Tarnish Remover
  • Simple Green Concentrated All-Purpose Cleaner
  • Target’s Up & Up and Walmart’s Great Value

Included in this list are cleaners to avoid.  That list is so long, you might be left wondering what you should be cleaning with.  Fortunately, they also have a list of the best green cleaners.  While these may still not be great for your health and aren’t as safe as water, vinegar and baking soda, they are good alternative for what you might be using now.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Atlantic~mama on May 15, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    I’ve really been enjoying yours posts since I started following you. Especially the one about Johnson’s Baby wash (toxic!). I was recently nominated for the versatile blogger award and am nominating you in return. Rules and such are here: http://atlanticmama.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/awards-and-such/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

